first_imgSt Eunans are the county champions!Manager Eamon Boyle revealed how they had used the tragic death of supporter Elaine Winston who died yesterday to spur them on before the game.“It was a sad day for the club and we spoke about it before the game and I am delighted that we have driven on and won this game for the Winston family and the supporters,” he said. The Letterkenny team staved off a brave challenge from Naomh Conaill with just a point between the sides in the end on a scoreline of 1-7 to 0-9.Mark McGowan scored the vital last point for St Eunan’s with a long range but perfectly accurate kick.Glenties players Darragh Gallagher, who had enjoyed a fine game, had the chance to level the scores near the final whistle but put his shot side.The teams swapped points throughout with St Eunan’s giving away a lot of needless frees to allow Glenties to keep in touch. The Cathedral Town team’s cause wasn’t helped when sub David McGinley was sent off for what looked like an off the ball incident.Naomh Conaill looked like they were on control with a two point advantage until goal hero Lee McGonagle popped up to score a fine goal to give them a single point advantage.Glenties equalised but then came the superb long-range kick from McGowan to put Eunan’s ahead as the clock ticked down at McCumhaill Park.The 45 came from a mis-hit back-pass from Brendan McDyre, who’d had a great game up until then, the ball rolling over the line.“I don’t know how that happened, he must have thought that there was someone standing there because the goalkeeper was nowhere in sight,” said joint manager Martin Doherty. “Poor Brendan. But he was superb all day, they all were. We are just gutted.”St. Eunan’s: JP Clarke; Eddie Brennan, Micheal Martin, Conor Parke; Peter Devine, Eamonn Doherty, Mark McGowan (0-2,1’45’; John Haran, Rory Kavanagh (0-1); Lee McMonagle (1-1), Conall Dunne (0-1), Kevin Rafferty; Conor Gibbons (0-1,f), Ross Wherity, Sean McVeigh (0-1). Subs., Damien McClafferty for Brennan 20; David McGinley for Gibbons 42; Kieran Sharkey for Parke 57.Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Stephen Molloy, Johnny Bonner, Jason Campbell; Eoin Waide, Thomas Donoghue, Marty Boyle; Leo McLoone (0-1), Anthony Thompson; Cathal Ellis, Brendan McDyer, Daragh Gallagher (0-5,3f); Dermot Molloy (0-2,1f), Johnny McLoone, Leon Thompson (0-1). Sub., John O’Malley for L Thompson 58COUNTY CHAMPIONS ST EUNAN’S DEDICATE WIN TO TRAGIC ELAINE was last modified: November 5th, 2012 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)Tags:county championsElaine WinstonSt Eunanslast_img read more