Hudson County Community College Inducts More than 150 New Members into…

first_imgHudson County Community College (HCCC) administered the oath of membership for the College’s Beta Alpha Phi (BAP) Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society to more than 150 students on Nov. 1.During the virtual ceremony, Beta Alpha Phi Chapter President Darciane Barbieri Eltz welcomed several HCCC speakers, including President Dr. Chris Reber; Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Darryl Jones; Director of Faculty and Staff Development and past PTK Middle States President Lilisa Williams; and Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Lisa Dougherty.  Inductees were also addressed by Candice Giunta, New Jersey State Phi Theta Kappa President, Alpha Psi Pi Chapter – Rowan College of South Jersey, and Cesar Orozco, Past President of HCCC Beta Alpha Phi Chapter. × Sunday’s virtual event underscored the impact PTK and the College have on academic achievement, leadership, and career growth. Mr. Orozco, an Ecuadorian immigrant, completed an Associate of Arts degree in Psychology at HCCC and continued his education at New Jersey City University where he earned a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and Master’s degree in Mental Health Counseling. “Hudson County Community College was the platform for that which I am now. The experience acquired at the College through the classes, professors, and honor societies has led me to work currently for the community of West New York,” Mr. Orozco said.Established in 1918, the PTK Honor Society has helped millions of high-achieving students at two-year colleges throughout the world to reach their full potential. PTK recognizes and encourages individual growth through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programs. Members are afforded opportunities to develop professional skills, explore careers, and participate in improving their communities through volunteer programs. In addition, PTK scholarships help students complete their degrees and prepare for transfer to four-year institutions.The following HCCC students were inducted into the College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter:From Bayonne – Prince Ahmed, Rawda Ahmed, Jasmine Benjamin, Hailey Bouillon, Zaynab Bouri, Catherine Castillo, Abanoub Eshak, Taylor Gallardo, Kristen Gavin, Serina Gonzalez, Kristin Hyman, Juliana Lopez, Marina Makary, Hellen Montoya, Kate Neal, Angela Perez, and Pablo Pintado.From Guttenberg – Fiona Bezhani, Melanie Cabrera, and Jyssel Lebon.From Hoboken – Brian Bartoszek.From Jersey City – Rachid Afoulki, Bakir Amanda, Mary Janine Ang, Karen Apalla, Richard Apena, Mohamed Arafa, Mohame Amine A. Ariq, Amelia Bernardo, Mary Bitua, Daniela Ciammaruconi, Eleanor Clark, Diana Collaguazo, Thais Cruz, Dyamond Drakes, Hasan Farhad, Tais Fontanez, Nelson Gandhi, Cassidy Garcia, Kenia Gonzalez, Yerani Heredia, Shadira Herk, Ariel Hwang, Fouzia Idhamouch, Navi Johal, Maya Johnson, Elsa Jonsson, Brandon King, Nirali Limbachiya, Kelda Louis, Gelli Malapit, Rachel Malijao, Meagan Maniego, Tyshaun McClain, Carol McLean, Wendy Mejia, Andrew Moore, Samantha Moore, Reyna Morel, Carethia Mullings, Tanaisha Myrick, Quinyanna Neal, Kimberley Negron, Ariellen Orense, Cristal Ortiz, Michael Pasion, Daphnee Paul, Steven Peralta, Cassandre Philippe, Xiomara Preza, Shella Qazi, Nadine Rendaje, Rae Reside, Kyiomi Roberts, Tyra Rodriguez, Carmen Romero, Rehab Taha, Melanie Tom, Gina Torsiello, Richard Urena, Yuzen Vaghela, Anthony Vargas, Wenxu Wang, Taylor Weldon-Roberts, Nada Zekry, and Fatima Zohra Zerrouki.From Kearny – Ichraf Aftys, Harman Bricenco, Bailey Canela, Karina Henriquez, Andressa Marangon, Whitney Mora Rivera, and Charlene Nacino.From North Bergen – Yesmeen Abugosh, Harby Alzate, Yodalys Aparicio, Lee Carames, Shaun Crafton, Nathaly Ibarra, Rene Alexander Leal Ayala, Virginia Lee, Gabriela Leon, Jeffrey LeVine, Justine Negron, Emgy Noeman, Khadija Norelden, Susana Paez, and Devika Patel.From Secaucus – Arianna Aquino, Priyanka Baldha, Jason Cheng, Enrique Lovera, Rubi Ramirez, Alejandro Sanchez, and Crystal Troncoso.From Union City – Lisa Braverman, Jonathan Flores, Omar Gonzalez, Kawthar Khoja, Yissa Lamberck, Denise Maldonado, Kimberly Martinez, Tazeen Morshed, Nolberto Nunez, Christian Rodriguez, Gleidys Santana, Juliana Soto, and Julie Silva.From Weehawken – Irene Goldwasser and Beatriz Pena Vazquez.From West New York – Abraham Arenas, Naomi Betancourt , Karim Cardona, Sapanaben Chauhan, Wileiner Encarnacion, Yomaylin Feliz-Forman, Steven Gresely, Ayleen Herrera, Natalia Leykin, Annie Linares, Stanley Millien, Andres Molina, and Jessica Varela.last_img

Recommended Reading


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *